Edition Malaspina

Scroll

Edition Malaspina

Scroll

Honouring discovery and the scientific approach

The Chronomètre FB 1 - Malaspina Edition is a one-of-a-kind model attired in 18-carat rose gold framing a vertical satin-brushed silver-toned, blue-accented dial. Its Calibre FB.T.FC-2 with tourbillon and constant-force transmission comprises 1,119 components including sapphire half-bridges that highlight its exceptional pillar-type structure.

 Inspired by Ferdinand Berthoud’s astronomical pocket watch No. 3, the Malaspina Edition features an offset hours and minutes subdial and a long sweep-seconds hand. This exceptional timepiece pays tribute to Alessandro Malaspina, an explorer who left an indelible imprint on the late 18th century. Equipped with Ferdinand Berthoud’s marine chronometers Nos. 10 and 13, Malaspina sailed the world during five years and his expedition was to have great scientific significance.

Edition Malaspina

Features

00
The 44 mm octagonal case of this one-of-a-kind model features an execution that is new to Chronométrie FERDINAND BERTHOUD: crafted for the first time entirely in 18-carat rose gold, this inherently exceptional timepiece thus also dons a precious mantle.
00
Calibre FB-T.FC-2 is build according to a construction that is unique on the contemporary watchmaking scene. Positioned on either side of the tourbillon, between the fusee and the barrel, three sapphire half-bridges have been chamfered and sandblasted on the side. They are surrounded by polished titanium pillars. This construction is typical of 18th century marine chronometers and gives an incomparably light touch to the movement.
00
The movement’s precision stems from the constant supply of energy to the escapement via the fusee-and-chain transmission system, as well as from the tourbillon whose role is to free the watch from the negative effects of gravity. Its unusually large 16.5 mm carriage is fixed to an arrow-shaped steel arch and comprises no less than 67 elements.

Edition Malaspina in details

Case
Case
    • Diameter: 44 mm
    • Thickness: 13 mm
    • Water resistance: 30 m
    • Dynamometric crown in 18-carat rose gold (5N)
    • Octagonal case in 18-carat rose gold (5N) fitted with four watertight portholes in glareproofed sapphire crystal
    • Screw-in case-back with glareproofed sapphire crystal
    • Domed, arched and glareproofed sapphire crystal
    • Unique piece
Movement
    • CALIBRE FB-T.FC-2
    • Mechanical hand-wound movement
    • Tourbillon with constant force device with fusee-and-chain transmission
    • 3 sapphire half-bridges
    • Diameter: 35.50 mm
    • Thickness: 7.96 mm
    • Lines: 15 ¾
    • Number of jewels: 45
    • Frequency: 21,600 vph (3 Hz)
    • Power reserve: 53 hours
    • Number or parts: 1119
    • Chain length: 285 mm
    • Chronometer-Certified by the COSC
Dial and hands
    • Vertical satin-finish silver-toned dial with cut-out centre
    • 18-carat rose gold (5N) hours, minutes and power-reserve hands
    • Bronze gold plated seconds hand
Functions and display
    • Display of the hours, minutes at 12 o’clock
    • Central seconds
    • Power-reserve display in an openworked subdial at 9 o’clock
    • Tourbillon at 6 o’clock
Strap and buckle
    • Hand-sewn rolled-edge alligator leather strap
    • 18-carat rose gold (5N) double-blade length-adjustable safety folding clasp
Edition Malaspina Edition Malaspina
Interested in acquiring this exceptional model ?

Edition Malaspina

Scroll

Edition Malaspina

Scroll

Hommage à la découverte et à la démarche scientifique

Le Chronomètre FB 1 - Edition Malaspina est une pièce unique, entièrement habillée d'or rose 18 carats et d'un cadran argenté, satiné vertical, ponctué de bleu. Son calibre FB-T.FC-2 à tourbillon et force constante de 1 119 composants comprend des semi-ponts en saphir qui mettent en valeur son exceptionnelle architecture en piliers.

 S’inspirant de la montre de poche astronomique N°3 de Ferdinand Berthoud, l’Edition Malaspina affiche un sous-cadran des heures et des minutes décentré et une longue trotteuse centrale. Ce garde-temps d’exception rend hommage à Alessandro Malaspina, explorateur qui a marqué de son empreinte la fin du XVIIIe siècle. Equipé des Horloges de Marine No 10 et 13 de Ferdinand Berthoud, Malaspina parcourra le globe cinq années durant et son expédition connaîtra un grand retentissement scientifique.

Edition Malaspina

Caractéristiques

00
Le boîtier octogonal de 44 mm de cette pièce unique propose une exécution nouvelle pour la Chronométrie FERDINAND BERTHOUD : pour la première fois entièrement réalisé en or rose 18 carats, ce garde-temps d’exception se pare en plus d’un manteau précieux.
00
Le calibre FB-T.FC-2 est construit selon une architecture unique dans l’horlogerie contemporaine. Situés de part et d’autre du tourbillon, et entre la fusée et le barillet, trois semi-ponts en saphir ont été anglés et sablés sur le côté. Ils sont refermés par des piliers en titane poli. Caractéristique des chronomètres de marine du XVIIIe siècle, cette construction apporte à l’ensemble une légèreté incomparable.
00
La précision du mouvement vient de l’énergie constante transmise à l’échappement par le mécanisme de fusée-chaîne, mais également par le tourbillon dont la fonction est d’affranchir la montre des effets négatifs de la gravité. Sa cage, d’une dimension inhabituelle de 16,55 mm, est fixée à une arche d’acier en forme de flèche et regroupe pas moins de 67 éléments.

Edition Malaspina en détails

Boitier
Boitier
    • Diamètre : 44 mm
    • Epaisseur : 13 mm
    • Etanchéité : 30 m
    • Couronne dynamométrique en or rose 18 carats (5N)
    • Boîtier octogonal en or rose 18 carats (5N) muni de quatre hublots étanches en saphir traité antireflet
    • Fond vissé avec glace saphir traitée antireflet
    • Glace saphir chevée et cintrée traitée antireflet
    • Pièce unique
Mouvement
    • CALIBRE FB-T.FC-2
    • Mouvement mécanique à remontage manuel 
    • Tourbillon et mécanisme à force constante à transmission fusée-chaîne
    • 3 semi-ponts en saphir
    • Diamètre : 35.50 mm
    • Epaisseur : 7.96 mm
    • Lignes : 15 ¾
    • Nombre de rubis: 45
    • Fréquence : 21'600 A/h (3 Hz)
    • Réserve de marche : 53 heures
    • Nombre de composants : 1119
    • Longueur de la chaîne : 285 mm
    • Certifié chronomètre par le COSC
Cadran et aiguilles
    • Cadran argenté satiné vertical, ajouré au centre
    • Aiguilles des heures, minutes et réserve de marche en or rose 18 carats (5N)
    • Aiguille des secondes en bronze doré
Fonctions et affichage
    • Affichage des heures et minutes à 12 h
    • Secondes au centre
    • Affichage de la réserve de marche dans un compteur ajouré à 9h
    • Tourbillon à 6h
Bracelet et boucle
    • Bracelet en alligator rembordé et cousu main
    • Boucle déployante de sécurite en or rose 18 carats (5N) à double lame réglable en longueur
Edition Malaspina Edition Malaspina
Souhaitez-vous acquérir cette pièce d'exception ?